+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Mirror placement / install

Hybrid View

Default Mirror placement / install

Not sure if this is where I should be posting this, but thought it was safe here... This really isn't a mod per say, but since my car didn't come with a right side mirror, maybe this is considered a mod? Sorry, still a little confused on when I should use this thread versus the standard threads.

Onto my topic...
    I have a passenger side mirror that I'd like to install on the car. Before I get into this project, I thought I'd ask you all what I can expect in doing this. I hate the idea of drilling holes in a perfectly good door, but I am a driver that relies on a right hand mirror a lot and I miss having one on there. So, I am going to do this!
    1. I see that I must screw the bracket directly onto the skin of the door. Do I just use sheet metal screws to hold in place or do I need to take the inside door panel off to secure?
    2. What surprises might I encounter?
    3. Helpful hints, suggestions or warnings?!?!
    Thanks in advance for your help guys!
    Steve
    Steve
    72 Buick Centurion Convertible - Current (Purchased in 2007)
    71 Buick Skylark Convertible - (mistakenly sold when I thought it was time to "grow-up"!)
    02 GMC Yukon XL - Daily Driver
    00 Jeep Wrangler - My "other fun" car...

Hi Steve
    There was a thread about this topic by Herman Rodriques but can't find
    I thought it was this one http://www.buickcenturion.com/forums...ht-Side-Mirror
    Perhaps you could ask him

A small piece of advice make a template from the left side en flip it over to the right side
    So the mirrors will be in the same spot at both sides and if you have to drill the holes for the mirror put a piece of tape on the sheet metal and drill true that
    It prevents the drill walking away on the paint job (i don't know if that is the correct fraze)
    Erik
    Ridderkerk
    The Netherlands
    gumbeest@msn.com